AMResorts® Says No to Straws

AMResorts®, an Apple Leisure Group (ALG) company, is completely eliminating the use of plastic straws across its seven luxury resort brands, as part of its continued responsible travel efforts.

Effective immediately, staff at all 55 AMResorts properties are no longer serving drinks with straws and will provide alternative, biodegradable options for guests upon request. Given AMResorts’ large footprint in popular beach destinations in Mexico, the Caribbean and Central America, eliminating straws is another step forward in its wildlife conservation and environmental sustainability initiatives.

“AMResorts welcomes thousands of guests annually and knows the power a seemingly simple act can have on protecting the oceans and beaches our resorts call home,” said Colette Baruth, Senior Vice President Marketing, Sales & Distribution for AMResorts. “Our priority is to provide guests with an unmatched resort experience while maintaining eco-friendly practices in the process.”

Since launching in 2001, responsible travel has been a cornerstone in AMResorts’ standard operating procedures and resort programs. The efforts take on many forms across all resorts to leave a positive mark on each destination, from actively supporting wildlife conservation programs to developing initiatives to benefit local communities. The majority of AMResorts properties are Rainforest Alliance Certified™, and several are part of Amigos de Sian Ka’an, an organization dedicated to the sustainability and conservation of the local communities in the Sian Ka’an biosphere throughout Quintana Roo, Mexico.

For more information on AMResorts’ corporate values and practices, visit AMResorts.com and its resort sites.

About AMResorts

AMResorts collectively provide sales, marketing and brand management services to seven individually unique resort brands including Zoëtry Wellness & Spa Resorts, Secrets, Breathless, Dreams, Now, Reflect and Sunscape Resorts & Spas. The Newtown Square-based company is continuously raising the all-inclusive concept to a new level of luxury with its signature Endless Privileges®, Unlimited-Luxury®, Defined Delights and Unlimited-Fun® programs. Located throughout Mexico, Jamaica, Curacao, Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, and Panama, AMResorts’ 55 award-winning properties treat every guest to premium accommodations, desirable locations and extraordinary inclusions. The brands in the collection include: boutique Zoëtry Wellness & Spa Resorts (zoetryresorts.com; 1-888-4-ZOËTRY); adults-only Secrets Resorts & Spas (secretsresorts.com; 1-866-GO SECRETS); high-energy Breathless Resorts & Spas (breathlessresorts.com; 1-855-65-BREATHE); family-friendly Dreams Resorts & Spas (dreamsresorts.com; 1-866-2-DREAMS); vibrant Now Resorts & Spas (nowresorts.com; 1-877-NOW-9953); spirited Reflect Resorts & Spas (reflectresorts.com; 1-855-4REFLECT); and fun-filled Sunscape Resorts & Spas (sunscaperesorts.com; 1-866-SUNSCAPE). Images, logos and informational material about the AMResorts Collection of brands and properties are available at amresorts.com/mediasite/media.

2018-08-28T11:52:33+00:00August 28th, 2018|Tags: , |